Grief

I was shocked to read that the guy who writes my daily scripture notes,lost his eldest son on Thursday.He was just driving to work at the large church complex and was involved in an accident and died.

He leaves a pregnant wife and young daughter.A few years ago I would have ranted and raved at God about this, “how could He do such a thing…” But I have learnt over the years that He will not tell me the answer and I really don’t need to know. I WILL know in the future,but for now I have to trust. I haven’t come to this conclusion easily.

When my 6 year old daughter faced death through Leukaemia,I was grief stricken,I couldn’t understand why a child should suffer,I would rather have bourne it myself,I pleaded and got angry but God worked out his purpose.Many people were strengthened in their faith through praying for her,people expressed their beliefs and united across the country to help us,and praise God she recovered. My father was not in that position and I spent his last day with him.On that day he told me that he had spent his whole life worrying about what other people thought about him,and what waste of time that had been.

I left the hospital knowing he would never be in my life again,and as I have just read,grief is not a battle that you can win. You must go with the punches , you have to drown to resurface,you cannot fight it.It takes each of us different amounts of time to come to the surface again,but we do eventually,and are hopefully stronger for it.
As is often said, death is the only certainty in life.None of us will escape it. I do not have the answers to the why’s or if’s.I only know that we can survive grief and those lost become memories.

As to our own death…we can walk into heaven in a twinkling of an eye…….John3:16

For God so loved the world that he gave his only son,that whoever(put your name here) believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

This is absolutely free of charge,just give the reins of your life to Jesus Christ,ask forgiveness and you will receive, whatever you may have done,and eternal life is yours.

And I might add,you WILL be forgiven.I heard the testimony recently of an Irish terrorist who found God. But thats another story………………………

One thought on “Grief

  1. Hi Tootallburd -Having lost my husband to leukemia a little over a year ago, the subject of grief is fresh. When a believer passes from this life into eternity, if we ourselves know the Lord, we never lose them in the permanent sense. Yes, we miss them and the pain is agonizing at times. Yet we know we’ll see them again and be with them forever. The unbeliever lacks that glorious comfort. We live in a fallen world where sickness attacks us, and murder, war and other evils abound. This is the Pandora’s box Adam opened when he rebelled against God. How thankful I am to Jesus for paying my debt of sin, and promising that all these enemies will eventually be destroyed, including death.Blessed be the Lord, who dailyloadeth us with benefits,Susan J. Reinhardt

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

