The joys of castle living.


My week of “sitting” is ended. My elderly ex army gentleman woke me at 04.20 precisely by setting off all the burglar alarms in the Castle,a siren that can practically be heard in Glasgow,which sent me flying down four flights of stairs in my pajamas ,to find him fully dressed in suit and tie in the main hall.
After some persuasion and on the understanding that I was not going to wake the housekeeper to cook his breakfast,I managed to get him to relax in his reclining chair in the Library with a cup of tea. We spent some minutes deciding which lamp should be left on and he finally started to doze,as I tiptoed out of the room he opened one eye, smiled and said ,”Why have you got NO shoes on!!”

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

