It’s Over!

Yes, the computer is mine, at last!
All the blogs I’ve read recently from folk here in Scotland have been about the foul weather we have had lately. Well today,the sun, yes, I said sun, that’s enough to make Scottish men rush outside in T shirts, is shining, the wind has dropped and we have electrickery! What more can you ask for.

Add to that the children returned to school today, so as it was the Rev’s day off, we dissapeared into the woods away from the phone. The view over Kilmartin Glen from the top of the hills was fantastic and most of the fallen trees had been cleared so the walk was fairly easy

These photo’s were taken in Summer.(not mine)

It was good to get out,I had Christmas up to here! Our own day was good, but if I had to sing “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” just one more time, I might have run screaming from the building. It started in early December and didn’t stop until the big day. We accuse ” non church goers ” of turning the whole thing into a consumer festival,but then we over do it , yes Advent is a time of preparation, and one of the most important events in the Church calender, I am overwhelmed that God sent his son to save us ,but I attended SO many services (not always willingly, but it was rude not to and I’d be missed), that the wonder and mystery of it all vanished and I just felt relieved that it was all over. Next year I vow to treat it like Christmas dinner, not to indulge too much, leave wanting more.

The children, well no longer, young people, as a friend pointed out to me on Sunday, are absent during the day, lovely,but I miss the  chatter from my daughter if she can tear her self away from the computer long enough,and the” becoming more musical as days go by” twanging from my son’s electric guitar, but at last I have access to their rooms!!! This morning I wish I hadn’t looked as I waded my way towards their beds. I was reminded of the song “The Twelve Days of Christmas”

On the last day of the Christmas holidays,my children left for me:
12 Roses chocolate wrappers
11 Empty crisp packets
10 screwed up tissues
9 dried up felt pens
8 various phone/electronic device chargers (tangled)
7 bits of cotton wool soaked in nail polish
6 Kirby grips
5 False nails (did she only have them on one hand?)
4 pairs of ear phones
3 empty Tesco Sparkling Water bottles
2 deodrant cans
AND
A Mr Kipling French Fancies Box

Hope you all have A very Peaceful and Happy New Year.

One thought on “It’s Over!

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

