Where two or three are..

January is nearly gone already,I have felt as if I’m on a conveyor belt since Christmas and keep hoping that someone will switch it off!

Our new Family work took off with a bang. Despite living in a remote rural area ,we have welcomed around 50 folk at a go. Some our own church, but at least half ,people who would rather go to the dentist than  come on a Sunday. We cook them a meal, chat to them while they do something crafty with their Grandchildren or own kids, we sing a song, have a story and wave them off…. and they keep coming back. I have been amazed too at the wonderful teamwork and the way our two separate Parishes are working together.

I could have done with some teamwork today, at long last our son has a “real ” bed, after camping in his room for the past year. The man in the shop said that it was easy to assemble, so I looked forward to the challenge when the men from Glasgow arrived at the crack of dawn with brown boxes full of bits.

I laid out all the screws, washers, bolts and parts, and started on page one,  “Assemble head and foot board”, it said .Easy peasy! Page two, “Three people are recommended for this part of the assembly.” I read. Hmmm, I looked at the dogs, no poseable thumbs! So with 4 paperbacks and a stool I balanced the other parts and screwed it together. Two hours later , a bed.

Son came in from school and commented ” It’s a bit narrow I’ll fall off, and I don’t like the way you arranged my bedroom.”  He gets NO TEA!

The Rev. has been at meetings in Edinburgh for the past two days. He will come in and tell me how tired he is, and ask me what I did today, because women at home sit and watch TV all day ,don’t they. I have cleaned out hens, walked dogs, built a bed, done the washing, three baskets of ironing,(why do I leave it SO long!) and pinched some snowdrops from the churchyard for a flower arrangement. Inbetween times I have manned the study and answered the phone and written notes on ” post it’s” for him. Now it’s time to feed the returning children, well one , I forgot I’m not feeding “him”, but I expect I’ll give in….

One thought on “Where two or three are..

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

