Flushed

I attended my daughters’ Parents evening, where I met her French Teacher, a native of that country whose broken English and lovely accent  was charming.

Why is it then ,that when I call a help centre or advice line and I hear an asian accent does my heart sink?

I had to phone my bank because someone “borrowed” £300 from my account. Actually it was fraud, and they apparently paid their loan with it, according to the company involved. The bank refunded my money and said that they would send me the relevant paperwork to sign. I waited a week but nothing arrived.

Worried that it had arrived while we were away and had got lost, I phoned. The woman who dealt with me was almost unintelligible. She couldn’t understand what I needed and could not explain the banks policy.Despite my best efforts all I could get from her was that no one had confirmed that I hadn’t used the money myself. So I gave up, as I think she said that they would be in touch.

I understand that people need employment , but who interviews them for these posts? Do they speak English themselves? Don’t companies realise that to solve situations communication is necessary in a language both parties understand? A course should be provided to all for whom English is not their first language.

It must be my age, but lately I have the urge to write feisty letters people who in my opinion offer a substandard service.

When I was at school, the older female teachers often turned red and fanned themselves, and at times acted rather illogically. My friends whispered “the change”. I had no idea what this was, were they morphing into something or was it to do with dinner money. I had enough hormonal changes to cope with at the time without worrying about theirs.

Now I understand,why women of a certain age suddenly believe that they can put the world to rights. Jenny Eclair, a stand up comedienne , warns shop assistants and the like, never to cross swords with a menopausal woman! Too right!

But don’t you men sit there and smirk, you get just as grumpy as you become follically challenged on top and hair starts sprouting in your ears. You too remember “how things used to be” and think you know a better  way  to  run the country.

One good thing about my letter writing is that after complaining about my operation I have been invited to join The Patient Panel at the Hospital in which I was treated. So maybe i can improve the experience for others.

Gosh, must open a window it’s getting hot in here!

2 thoughts on “Flushed

  1. Nic Houghton

    The person that you spoke to will probably be sitting in a call centre in Asia. The call will probably have been recorded (“for training purposes”). So in a letter you should give the time of the call.
    Where did banks lose their way? I had the devil’s own job to get loans when I was in a transient job taking me to different parts of the world, reasonably well paid and secure. Applications would be assessed electronically on a points basis. “Where do you live: Ouagadougou, How long have you lived there?: 6 months, If less than a year give your previous address: Mbabane, ” etc. “REFUSED”. “Can I please talk to a human!? Hello!!”
    Remember the ‘Bank Manager in your cupboard’ advert. Those were the days when you could communicate with your branch manager. Do branches have manager’s anymore?
    Write the letter.

    1. I didn’t have to write a letter, strangely the paperwork that they knew nothing about turned up two days later! Banks are only your friend if you have plenty of cash. Perhaps someone supervisory heard the recorded call.

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

