Oven Slut

I am an oven slut. I don’t mind admitting it, I hate cleaning the cooker. The outside I manage but the oven….. I came back from holiday and realised that I couldn’t see through the oven door window. I think this was a job I had planned to do earlier in the year before other events got in the way.

Ovens must have been designed by people who never clean them because, unless you are lucky enough to have one of those swanky “built in” types at a reasonable height, you have to stand on your head, bend double or get down on your knees to get at it.

I purchased one of those cleaning kits where you put the shelves in a plastic bag, pour on the chemicals and tip the rest in the oven. I thought that I had a “self-cleaning ” model but obviously my cooking is too much for it.

With the kit you are provided with a pair of skimpy plastic gloves which are absolutely useless as they fill with liquid. What is really needed is a pair of those that a vet uses when examining a cow! 

I left the stuff on for most of the day, but I still had to wash it all off. I covered a kitchen chair cushion with bubble wrap to kneel on. I’ve had problems in the knee department since my late teens and as I am now not far off 60 genuflecting does not come easy. I also forgot about the bubble wrap and scared myself half to death when I knelt down and the bubbles exploded with loud bangs!

Despite putting newspaper over the floor, nasty brown syrupy liquid ran everywhere. That new shiny paper is not as absorbent as the old stuff. With a bit of elbow grease the glass cleared and the shelves shone.

The Rev. went by and remarked that he preferred the oven to be cleaned after each meal, I told him that he was welcome to do just that at any time. He didn’t seem to like the idea and sloped off to the living room to watch the tennis.

Now it’s time to cook another meal, but I don’t want to make it dirty, perhaps we’ll have sandwiches….

9 thoughts on “Oven Slut

  1. I had a new oven last autumn … I’ve cleaned it once … and I’ll do it again soon. Amazing, twice in one year – the last oven I had I had professionally cleaned once in ten years! For £50 it was worth it to have an oven shining like new! I keep telling myself that if I do this one more often, it will stay new for longer, but …

    Oh how I hate that job!

      1. I did that when we moved from the parish where my husband was a curate … only for the house to be sold before the next curate was appointed!

  2. Nic Houghton

    Google “Easy oven cleaning”.
    I use a combination microwave for much of my cooking and/or the steamer. The grubby microwave is much less daunting than a full blown oven and usually easier to access.

  3. Nic Houghton

    I easily got the chrome taps restored again by soaking toilet paper in vinegar, packing it around the taps and leaving it over night. Hey presto! gleaming taps. there may be a similar solution to oven cleaning.

  4. downunder

    My new vicarage kitchen has a supposedly self cleaning oven. I think the brochure stretched the truth a bit (quite a bit actually)

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

