Rain , Peas and Wraps

Today is Messy Church, as it is twice a month during term time. The Rev. has taken a break down in Shropshire with his sister, so I am on my tod at home.

I am reading The Island Wife by Judy Fairbairns which I cannot put down, it is so near to my own life I am surprised at every page. I save it for bedtime as it helps me wind down. My son stuck his head around the door at 11:30 and told me to get some sleep or I wouldn’t be able to get up in the morning…hmmm heard that somewhere before…. but he was right I crawled out of bed at 7am pulled my wellies and waterproofs over my leggings and T shirt and wandered down the Glen in the pouring rain with the dogs. Came back and made tea for those who were having trouble getting out of bed themselves and went back into the rain to let out the hens ,who had made an awful mess in the hen house. When I’d done their housework and fed them, given Mrs Fergueson a lecture for bullying Doris I went back to find the son who had told me I wouldn’t get up in time, still in bed and the bus due in 15 minutes. Panic ensued, I also found myself drying a pair of shoes with a hair dryer, I told her they were no good for winter, and we are in the monsoon season in Argyll, but no ,she bought them any way. Both teenagers  made it  to the bus and I had a ham sandwich for breakfast because we seem to be running out of food fast, I thought I had enough for the week his nibs was away ,but we may be left with ice pops by Saturday.

 

I decide to cook the wrap fillings for the  Messy Church meal as the electricity is going to be cut off until 4pm in the village that we are going to, plus pizzas for the veggie types. I find that the freezer door doesn’t shut, so I think a quick defrost is called for ,especially as there is little in it. Bad decision, the ice is about 3 inches thick. I scrape out what I can and chuck boiling water at the rest, not the way to do it but I have no time.  I burn the pizzas while I’m doing this ,my feet are soaked and my slippers are full of defrosting Petit pois.

I am sitting down for a cuppa whilst the dogs and I regroup and clear up the mess. I’ll mop and they can eat the peas. 

4 thoughts on “Rain , Peas and Wraps

  1. We all have days like that from time to time … I hope you soon get it sorted … and some food in the house xx

    (I defrosted my freezer in an emergency last week – I used a fan heater and a Vax to suck up the water!)

  2. downunder

    I am glad to hear we are not the only mad ones to do Messy Church twice a month in 2 different churches in the one parish.Praying for blessings and lots of people coming (and they can always eat burnt pizza, just call it char grilled)

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

