Women should stay at home and clean?

A politician recently said that women should stay at home and clean behind the fridge. Well today I did. I also cleaned the tops of the kitchen units.Spring clean your kitchen

This is NOT me by the way!

 

Question 1. How often do you clean the tops of your kitchen cupboards?

a) Once a week?

b) Once a year?

c) Once every 5 years ?

d) Never?

If you have been reading this blog over the years you will have noticed that I don’t like housework., so b,c or,d  is probably me. There are far better things to occupy your time. But the Church is paying for a new kitchen to be put in the Manse, and I was asked to clear it. Most of the contents are piled in the Dining Room, and every time I want to cook I have to rummage in boxes. On Saturday, we are moving out for a week; so today  I really got down to business.

 

I moved in 6 months after The Rev. took the post here, so I had only added a few things to the cupboards. Dismantling them I found all sorts of treasures that I didn’t know we had. Also ,how many bags of S.R flour do I need? They must have kept moving to the back and I lost them. Bags of just about everything seemed to have leaked. 

 

While I was busy the Session Clerk popped in, I noticed him give me a strange look. After he had gone, when I looked in the mirror I noticed my hair contained a mixture of flour ,cous- cous and chocolate drops which I had swept off the shelf. After a couple of hours scrubbing grease combined with dog hair and dust (Eeww.) from the tops of very high cupboards I was knackered, so I got some lunch and thought I’d have a sit down and watch the telly. I just got comfy when the Undertaker turned up, (also builder, carpenter etc.)  . They had decided to start early by taking a wall down, so I think I’ll go out with the dogs and leave them too their banging and scraping. Dust and plaster is flying all over the kitchen I just scrubbed. I should have left it and let them take it down greasy!

 

I vow to keep my new kitchen spotless…. who am I kidding?

 

3 thoughts on “Women should stay at home and clean?

  1. downunder

    In heaven i will have clean kitchen, until then…… well it is good to clean the vicarage kitchen before you leave the vicarage or feed the Bishop or the vestry.

    1. In heaven I hope I don’t have to cook! Thankfully we don’t have Bishops in the Church of Scotland, but I do clean for “Ladies” meetings or other visitors…just not the tops of the cupboards. (and I desperately try to disguise the smell of dog.)

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

