A little holiday.

I have had a little holiday while my new kitchen is being installed. It was supposed to be for the whole family. They dumped their stuff and headed off. One to the National Mod for three days, Islay beat them so they weren’t on the telly. The other went off with his girlfriend, and the Rev. decided to stay in the rubble and man his office.

That left me and the smallest dog. We have walked miles and miles over hills, beside the sea and along the Canal side. The sun was so hot we had to spend one afternoon on the decking ! It’s October and this is Scotland!

Have got some good photos ,chatted to lots of folk and a few parishioners who live out of the parish who wondered what I was doing here. I have read 5 books, including “The Rainbow” by D.H. Lawrence; and I have chilled. It feels great but I know I will not want to leave on Saturday. Watching the weather change over Loch Fyne and watching the log lorries unloaded on to the ships has been wonderful. Being in walking distance of a shop is luxury.

I love living in the Glen but I hadn’t realised quite how isolated we were. The new kitchen will make up for it, but I shall miss seeing the outside world.

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

