Can you prove that?

If you are in the throes of getting one of your little darlings off to Uni or College, I feel for you, I really do!

We have filled out form after form and electronically scanned dozens of pieces of paper to accompany them. Although I have developed a hatred of printers, it took me two hours this morning to get it to recognise the new ink cartridge. Thank goodness for the nice man on You Tube! It sends me messages when I am desperately trying to get yet another document printed and says “Printer is busy.” as if it hasn’t got time for me just at the moment. I have learned tricks on how to get it to do what I want, creeping up on it and pressing buttons ,shouting “ha ha got you!!”

We have searched for and applied for grants and bursaries and yesterday breathed a sigh of relief as it all disappeared into the  airwaves… but NO, it all comes pinging back!

The e.mail says, “You didn’t send proof of this…”  “But you didn’t ask for it! “, we cry! So we scan and send more. The most irritating reply was “Have you thought about going back to school?” Going back to school ?, he’d be gone 20 by the time he left!!!! If you don’t want to give us the grant ,just say so!

Then there is THE STUFF, a three column list of requirements from a toothbrush to bin liners to enough socks and boxers to prevent him having to do too much washing, he says! We have an enormous list on the wall and every time we think of something else it grows, a tin opener being the latest addition.

I chat to the lady on the phone at the student accommodation, she is soothing, how many other neurotic mothers has she dealt with today. When she tells me how many international students they have, I think, he’s only moving about 150 miles away, these folk are coming from other countries and different cultures. It puts things in perspective.

I am still applying for jobs, the latest doesn’t interview until October, so I have time to get the boy away first. Had another meeting with “Jim ” at the Jobcenter who suggested that I did a course. Apparently they had a very good one lately on planting a herb garden. No I am not joking, I didn’t know quite what to say ,so I think I smiled and said ,”Lovely.”. I live in a flat, and I don’t think a herb garden would help my employment status , or am I missing something?   Maybe a mustard seed is worth considering in all this though?

I have learnt a lot more about admin lately though.Anyone want a crazy woman who shouts at printers ?

2 thoughts on “Can you prove that?

  1. Shirley

    Don’t you sometimes long for the good old days when we filled in application forms [no more than three pages] and wrote a covering letter in our own handwriting?
    And when lists of ‘needs’ included three of everything [underwear, shirts/blouses etc] … one on, on in the wash and one in the drawer. In those days we washed our clothes only finding a run of wet days a nuisance to our appearance.
    Sorry, but I laughed [out loud!! … though not quite as bad as shouting at a recalcitrant printer that have built-in tricks for those users over 30] at Jim’s suggestion of herbs … so often herb gardening has a slightly disturbing connotation, but mustard set me right. We used to grow mustard in the garden as a winter green crop as it is evidently, so we were informed, great to add to garden productivity by adding good nutrients.
    Best of luck to your son in his ‘days away at further education’ … and good luck to you for your next interview which seems an age away! October!! So many weeks!

    1. Thank you Shirley, I just remember days when all you had to was pick up a pen, I type so much these days, but still with only one hand!

      I was a bit shocked at October but apparently the “boss” is away on holiday and they have a lot of admin. Maybe they are hoping for a deluge of applicants!

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

