Go and conquer!

Woke up at 6.30 and thought I’ll just have another half hour before checking my daughter is up for school. At 7 20 woke up again! It just went downhill from there really. Walked the dogs in the dark and got soaked in the rain, school clothes put out last night had mysteriously disappeared, bacon burned and set the fire alarm off, the ancient fridge that is very temperamental, hadn’t been shut properly the night before (probably me) and had completely iced the freezer box and dripped water into everything.

Daughter had emptied cat litter into kitchen bin but missed, and why didn’t I finish last nights washing up before I went to bed?

D went to school having one bite of sandwich, chimney sweep hasn’t been in touch, and can’t light the burner because a neighbour alerted me to sparks flying from chimney AGAIN!Temperature forecast to be below freezing for the rest of this week. So I am not having a good start to my day.

Have put soothing music on (Radio 3) nice bit of harpsichord. Found smelly wet dogs have curled up on sofa ,but I don’t care. Nothing is really as bad as it seems, nothing a hoover, some polish and hot soapy water won’t sort.

If only life was as easy to fix sometimes. I have been wished a “Happy New Year” many times in the last week. Peaceful or non -stressful would do. Last year spent settling into a new house, getting used to being single again and the divorce going through, remaining unemployed despite applying for numerous jobs and sending son off to college took/takes courage. Someone told me that being courageous is just doing things while feeling scared.So true.

I read in the media ,who seem to relish the reporting, that so few of the population attend church or profess to be Christian. All seemingly based on the Church of England statistics. Well formal church may not meet the needs of society these days, “church ” has become less popular, but it has little to do with belief.We need to wake up and give folk places they want to attend, but I don’t know how people manage without God. I need Him every minute of everyday. Churches, society may change, but thankfully He does not, HE is always there and nothing can separate us from him.

Paul wrote to the Roman Church and told them:
37 But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus….

We are conquerors and I’m off to conquer my house and anything else that crops up to day, and I shall do it chatting to my creator … Hope you have a good day too.
a conquerer

6 thoughts on “Go and conquer!

  1. I wish you a peaceful, stress free, more rewarding year than you have had in recent times and also good luck in the job-hunt market.
    As you so rightly say, courage is about just keeping on in the face of adversity, and with God’s help you will.
    Blessings.

  2. Thank you for your encouraging words. In a world of advertising and social media that would have us believe that everyone else’s life is perfect, it’s comforting to know I’m not the only one with wet smelly dogs who manages to oversleep at the wrong times 🙂

I would love to hear your comments and will try to reply ASAP.

